As an early childhood teacher, you play a valuable role in educating young children. In fact, the work you do each day increases a child’s chances of succeeding in school and in life. They are more likely to graduate from high school, finish college and earn more as adults. That is why we need your participation in Florida’s VPK program.

Licensed, private early childhood educators, directors and family child care homes are eligible if they are accredited by a member of the National Council for Private School Accreditation, currently hold a Gold Seal Quality Care designation, or can demonstrate their ability to meet the VPK requirements. Public school districts must be approved by the state.

Standards Used in VPK Education Programs

Standards and benchmarks reflect the knowledge and skills that a child on a developmental progression should know and be able to do at the end of an age-related timeframe. In 2017, the Office of Early Learning convened a group of national and state early learning content experts to review current standards and recommend revisions to ensure that standards are rich, interactive and lead to better preparation for children based on current research to support high-quality standards. The Florida Early Learning and Developmental Standards – Birth to Kindergarten (2017) were adopted by the State Board of Education in December, 2017.

The revised standards address eight early learning and developmental domains reflecting a child’s expected age-appropriate progress – physical development, approaches to learning, social and emotional development, language and literacy, mathematical thinking, scientific inquiry, social studies and creative expression through the arts.

To ensure all teachers of four-year-olds effectively utilize appropriate Early Learning Standards, training has been developed. This training is based on the most current early childhood research and is appropriate for all instructors and directors of programs serving four-year-olds. The training is titled “Implementing the Florida Standards in Preschool Classrooms: 3 Years Old to Kindergarten (VFSP)”. Training is listed on the DCF website and registration must occur there. The training is available both face-to-face and on-line.

Do You Want to Become A VPK Provider?

VPK Provider Forms

Provider Application Process

If you are interested in being a VPK Provider in Southwest Florida, please contact Bernadette Quiñones at the Early Learning Coalition of SWFL (239) 935-6151 or contact one of the Early Childhood Specialists:

  • Brenda Griffin:  brenda.griffin@elcofswfl.org
  • Janelle Almonte: janelle.almonte@elcofswfl.org
  • Michelle Aguiar: michelle.aguiar@elcofswfl.org
  • Sarah Bedard: sarah.bedard@elcofswfl.org
  • Sherry Shupp: sherry.shupp@elcofswfl.org
  • Antonia Corrales: antonia.corrales@elcofswfl.org
  • Tallica Tidwell: tallica.tidwell@elcofswfl.org

Coalition News: Hurricane Ian

In response to Hurricane Ian, the Early Learning Coalition of SWFL is dedicated to providing information and assistance to childcare providers of Collier, Glades, Hendry and Lee Counties.

School Readiness Providers:  School Readiness reimbursements for September are anticipated to be released on schedule.  If you are able to log into the Provider Portal, please record facility closures for September and submit your attendance.  Payment will NOT be delayed if you are not able to access the portal due to loss of power or internet.

VPK Providers:  VPK Advance has been processed for all providers contracted for advance payments.  VPK reimbursements for September are anticipated to be released on schedule.  If you are able to log into the Provider Portal, please record facility closures for September and submit your attendance.  Payment will NOT be delayed if you are not able to access the portal due to loss of power or internet.

Click HERE for instructions on recording temporary closures in the Statewide Provider Portal.

Important Websites